Giving them, not receiving them. And I don't know what to do.

I was almost completely self taught on bass so I really don't know how this whole "lesson" thing is supposed to go.

The guy said he played piano most of his life and is familiar with musical notation, theory, so on and so forth which I know makes it way easier. But where do I begin? Do I give him "homework"? What about the second lesson? Third? Help appreciated.

Notes on the fretboard, half-steps all that. Learn scales in two or three postitions. Major and minor. Let him kind of figure it out. Get him good posture and teach him how to shape his tone and EQ. From there, just do wahtever, maybe get him going on some stuff. No tabs.
I would begin with basic set-up: where your right/left hands go, sitting and standing posture, etc. Have him try some open-string plucking hand techniques, things like that.

Next lesson could be fretting, left hand permutions.(or w/e its technical name is) I would get a hal leonard book (the one that ed friedland wrote, I think) You could also teach him the basics of eqing, and have him experimenting at home to find a tone he likes.

For homework let him pick an easy song, and let him learn it. When he plays what he learned the next lesson, you can spot any bad technique and help him sort it out.

It all depends on how fast he learns, and if he's older, you may need to be careful about "teaching" him. Straight up suggestions could make him angry, if he's that type.

Someone will no doubt have things to contradict here (for your benefit!^^) so take everything with a grain of salt. Everyone has a way to do this.