ok so ive been playing guitar for about..... a year and...3 months ish?
to keep my interest i started making songs early on.
im self taught using the internet every time i get to a snag(which isnt too often surprisingly.)
but.. i want to get better. fast. and im very serious and dedicated. i play anywhere from...an hour to maybe... 5 or 6 almost, if not daily.

what is the.... actual way a person learns to play a guitar? just doing scales to metronomes?
trying to tackle hard songs? doing chord changed over and over?
or practicing technique like spider exercises,scales, finger gym stuff?

i need something i can sit here and actually do and practice hard. to improve.

thanks mates
What I am doing is...

Learning all the notes on the fretboard, and practicing/recognizing scales, chord fingerings and progressions, and learning to play in different keys - I just wanna be able to improvise well, and have it sound great.
all of that, over and over, for the rest of your life
Dream Theater FTW!!

Gear:
Ibanez S7320 7-string
Tama Superstar 8 pc. drum set
just feels like im progressing as slow as possible.
of course im getting better. but.
i dont know. there is no structure to my practice.

hm.
If you need to get better structure your practice a bit but not so much that practice is a chore, If you want to be fast you need to start slow speed will come with practice and repetition.
Ibanez RG7321
Jackson Randy Rhoads V with Floyd Rose
Peavey Valveking 112
Digitech RP70 Guitar Processor
You've only been at it 3 months. CAAAALM DOWN.

I've been at it like 3.5yrs and I still am a noob. Progress is being made, though.
i just feel like. how will doing scales and chords teach me how to play freely?

i guess my question is how does a human actually LEARN to play a guitar.

will every song i play always be just me doing it slow and just remembering it from extreme repetition?

how will only playing scales and chords teach me anything but scales and chords.