Ok so this is my first time posting a thread but I've read a million and I've got a lot to say about this subject. Im sorry if I ramble. SO BASICALY. Im allergic to the Nickel as well as other relitivly cheap metals in Guitar strings. Its called Allergic Contact Dermitites

It suck a bunch, both my hands crack and fissure and often times get raw and swolen and its just plain nasty, specialy when im girl huntin if ya know what I mean. I was a jazz guitar major for a brief period and wanted to make guitar my life but it was cut short by the eventual deteriation of my hands(I had to drop out of school and have not played in months). I had it for almost a year before I even realized what was goin on . Either way heres what Ive discovered

Electric guitar strings need Nickel or some magnetic material to fire up the Pickups so one way or another your gona have NIckel in your electric guitar strings or some sort of Nickel alloy. Even when they say its some other metal there is garrunteed to be some amount of Nickel in them. Steel itself is a mixture of iron and Nickel I belive. And as far as Ive dicovered acustic strings are the same way. even though they dont need Nickel to make em work, no metals are pure any more. Ive tested them all.

So what metals are Gonna work?
heres a little science. When I play the guitar the moisture from my hands disolves the Nickel/metal into my skin. It then attaches my protiens, something crazy happens and i get hundreds of blisters on my hands. neway
The metal that I wont be alergic to is the metal that I wont disolve into my skin(basically the metals out there that don't dissolve or don't rust). Platinum, Pure Gold, Stainless steel, Titanium and others. These metals have a special oxide layer coating them that doesnt let moisture in. its weird stuff. Stainless steel has a good amount of Nickel in it as well as chromium but those metals are bound within its oxide walls.