Lovely to meet you all--I've been a lurker around here for a while now, and now that I have a problem, I've decided to register and hang around under an actual username rather than "Guest". Dispensing with the pleasantries now:

I recently bought myself a Behringer UCA202.

I did this in hopes of finding something I could plug my guitars and mics into to record on the computer. Damned unobservant of me to not notice until too late that it has RCA inputs, and no place to put a 1/4 inch cable directly in. You've probably guessed that I'm new to the recording game. I was getting bloody sick of the horrible sound the 1/4 to 1/8 adaptor gave me.

After some digging, I've found that I need a mixer or preamp to plug the guitar into, then plug the mixer or preamp into my interface, which then goes to the computer. Now, though, I'm taking no more chances, and deferring to people who are actually savvy on this sort of thing. My question is, are these what I need?

Nady MM-14FX

or

Behringer MIC100

Thanks!
I have this interface, it was my first.

Try getting an RCA to Jack adaptor. I still use this method (in conjunction with guitar rig 3) when I'm at uni and need to get some practice in and it sounds surprisingly good. I can post samples if you want them.

Don't get me wrong, it's not as nice as my 24/96 firewire rig, but it isn't terrible by anyones standards!
Epiphone Elitist SG (Serious)
Tokai Silver Star
Epiphone Dot
Epiphone Les Paul
Washburn J28SCEDL
Washburn J12S

G.A.S List

JCM600 (Yes a 600..)
Anything is better than plugging into a 3.5! Thanks, mah man. Any idea if that sort of thing would be available at Radio Shack, or is an online venue the place to hunt for it?
Last edited by Wynterbite at Mar 3, 2009,
..or RCA to jack cable which IMO is just that bit more elegant!