I've been playing guitar for about 11 months now and I'm a little confused. What does it mean to "play/solo over a chord?" For example what chords would you use if you were playing minor pentatonic in the key of A? And how do you know what chords to use? How do the chords and the key that you solo in correspond?
My Gear
Peavy Raptor 1
75w Line 6 Spider lll Amp
Epiphone Les Paul (SH-4 JB Bridge, SH-2 Neck)
Squier Jazz Bass
Crate 30w Amp
Jasmine Acoustic
Peavey Valveking 112
If you have a scale, like for example the A minor pentatonic scale, consider what notes make up that scale.

We've got A, C, D, E and G.

Those are gunna be the only notes you're going to play if you want to keep strictly to that scale when soloing. To figure out what chords will suit the scale the best, consider the nature of a chord; a series of notes put together that are sounded at the same time. Take a look at your five notes and see the range of chords they can make by combining them with eachother - just by taking a quick glance I can see that you can make Am and C, but to be honest you can use chords from the A Aeolian scale, and still solo over it with just the pentatonics. I've stayed up all night so I really can't be bothered explaining why, but you just can. Am, Bdim, C, Dm, Em, F, G.
lolburger
I know almost no music theory so could you dumb that down a bit?
My Gear
Peavy Raptor 1
75w Line 6 Spider lll Amp
Epiphone Les Paul (SH-4 JB Bridge, SH-2 Neck)
Squier Jazz Bass
Crate 30w Amp
Jasmine Acoustic
Peavey Valveking 112
Playing the changes is when you follow each chord in a progression with a certain scale/mode.

and go read the crusades for more info
*reported*... twice in one reply!

OH NOES!!! Theowy is scawY!!!
Last edited by allislost at Mar 4, 2009,