I havent made one before. But here's what i got as far as matierals + hardware goes.
I have about. a Full palate of mixed Maple and another of Alder all 2x6 boards aprox 4-5 feet long. I have my old jackson pickups + pots + switch im going to use Or i have some old Tescio gold foil pickups too. As for tools at my disposal, I have a dremmel tool, a wood working bench that clamps things together... a hand sander, a drill press and a Jigsaw. + basic tools everyone has, I.E Chisel

I have access to a planer at school, along with a band saw and belt sander.
I was wondering how i would go about itI'm not planning on making my own neck. Since this is my first build, I'm sending off some maple to a guy who buys wood to make guitars from my dads work. (Where i got the wood for the guitar im building) So, Maple neck, Alder body, birds eye maple fretboard

So far its cost me nothing for the wood, since its all reject wood (Means it just isnt suitable for furniture) I am almost certian this may fail, But im going to try anyways.

EDIT: Project has changed to a Rhoads. the Carboard template for the explorer didnt fit my wood. in a way i could stain it cherry.
Gibson 1972 SG Pro T-Top Bridge, P90 Neck
Dean DBD T ML
Jackson JS30RR EMGs 85-81
Epiphone G-400 Goth
76 Mann Les Paul Custom
Fender f-230 Accoustic
Randall RG-180 DX
Line6 Spider III HD75 Head - Behringer 412
Saving for a Marshall JCM 800.
Last edited by Rtard_GWARRIOR at Mar 18, 2009,
Nice design.
Good Luck! I will be following this thread
Tim.

You have entered the Twilight Zone
Beyond this world strange things are known
Use this key, unlock the door
See what your fate might have in store
Come explore your dreams' creation
Enter this world of imagination