G'day Guys,

Im looking for some help!

I've been playing for about a year now and have tired of the sound of the stock pickups in my Epiphone Les Paul Custom.

I was looking at fitting a Seymour Duncan JB in the bridge and a Seymour Duncan 59 in the neck.

I understand this is a pretty common modification but I have some questions.

a) Will the pickups drop straight in or will the guitar require some mods to fit the new pups?

b) Is it really worth updating the other electrics inside the guitar? If so, any recomendations?

c) By any chance does anyone have any links to any instructional videos on how to install the new pickups?

For the record I've had plenty of experience modding electricals, just not guitars.

Any help will be GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks very much

Cheers,

Mick
The pups will just drop right on in. They're five wire instead of two, so you /do/ actually have to read the instructions if you've never done it before.
It's not as hard as it seems. solder here, solder there, put some shrinkwrap around wires that're connected together.... if you know how to solder and read, you're okay.

Tell me how they sound in the paul, by the way. I've been lookin to do the same thing to mine.
Quote by conor1148
who cares if they're drawn,

boobies

Gear:
Peavey Supreme 100W head
Crate 4x12 cab
Epiphone Les Paul Standard+
Modded Johnson Stratocaster
Thanks very much for your help!

Consider it a deal, I'll post a video once they're fitted (will probably be in about amonths time)

Cheers
If you pay attention to how you take the pups out, you will have no problems putting the new ones in. They should just drop right in, no problems.

I have an epi SG with a 59 in the neck, and a 59 trembucker in the bridge. I think it sounds killer in the bridge spot, but depending on the set up I've found it gets a little muddy/flubby in the neck. I think alot of that though has to do with the set up.
Quote by Mick_Guest