Hi UG,

I've been playing for about 2 months or so self-taught, and practicing a few hours a day, aiming to play metal/shred/instrumental rock.

So far, i have learnt parts of these songs (not to perfection but i can play them decently):

Master of Puppets (everything except the solo section at about 170 bpm)
Holy Wars (intro, somewhat slower than original tempo)
About 5 easy riffs such as iron man/enter sandman/seek and destroy
Fade to Black (intro solo)

I am attempting to learn the bohemian rhapsody/final countdown solos (should be able to get them down soon enough)

My technique is improving over time (alternate picking and bending/vibrato).I have a decent knowledge of scales from learning piano theory, but I have pretty much no chord knowledge whatsoever (realised many of the songs that I want to play use 2 finger power-chords). Due to this, I have a feeling i am learning guitar wrongly.

Any suggestions? (and perhaps new songs i could learn)
Last edited by Timothongz at Mar 5, 2009,
Nah dude, you're basically just doing what I did, except way faster, and I'm pretty good 1 and a half years down the road. Although a little bit of theory here and would help, but I don't really know chords either (Never really bothered).
My Gear
Guitars
Cort VX-2V
Basses
Stagg BC300
Amps
Marshall JCM900 4100 DR
Marshall 1965A
Hartke HA3500 Combo
Absolutely doing fine. I couldn't do that after two years!
Get a chord dictionary or you could print one out but that's slow and there are advantages to having a book in front of you. The fingering in them is the ideal but I picked up the two-finger chords naturally from jamming to sixties blues stuff , Johm Mayall - Blues from Laurel Canyon specifically as he had the decency to put the key for each track on the sleeve notes. But learning that way did hold me back with other styles so remember to mix it.