I just bought a guitar and need some help. I'm a total beginner and i'm going to buy an instructional dvd for now. I would love to play some metal. I found some begining metal dvd's that teach newbies chords etc. However mabey i should get a begining guitar dvd instead. The metal one says learn chord etc and not worry about the stuff you don't need.Should i learn guitar and chords first than worry about the type of music i like.
Why not do both.

Follow the beginners course, which will ultimately make you a better player. And then when you have some fun and rock out, work your way through the metal course.
Quote by Free
Why not do both.

Follow the beginners course, which will ultimately make you a better player. And then when you have some fun and rock out, work your way through the metal course.

YEA!!!what he said
learn the basics and then just find tabs and learn to play them. if you have questions about techniques, etc. just ask them here. UG has lots of good articles on beginner guitar, might wanna check that out.

there are lots of free online lessons (some with video). might wanna check those out b/c there's more variety and its FREE

The first song I learned to play was burzum's "My Journey to the Stars." although death metal is my fav, this song helped me build speed and control
Definitely go for the basics first. It's important to get a good foundation before you start specializing in one genre. You don't want to be one of those guitarists who just plays metal, but then the time comes for them to play a blues song or something and they don't know the first thing about it. Versatility is a plus.
Quote by Bergey
Definitely go for the basics first. It's important to get a good foundation before you start specializing in one genre. You don't want to be one of those guitarists who just plays metal, but then the time comes for them to play a blues song or something and they don't know the first thing about it. Versatility is a plus.

+1