Does anyone know what modes they use? I know they tend to use the minor scale a lot but not which modes of the minor scale.
Would Phrygian be one?

Thanks for any help as I'm currently very new to modes.

Edit: to work some out for myself is this correct?
Work out what scale, e.g. C minor.
Work out the tonal center (the most commonly played note?).
So if I was in C minor and the most commonly played note was a G it would be G phrygian minor?
Or if the most commonly played note was a D it would be D locrian minor?
Gear List:
B.C. Rich NT Jr. V (With Seymour Duncan AHB-1 Blackout in bridge)
Electro-Harmonix Metal Muff
Marshall MG15DFX
Jazz III picks
DR strings
Planet Waves Cables
Last edited by LeperAffinity at Mar 5, 2009,
I'm pretty sure that they only use the minor and harmonic minor with a b2 thrown in every now and then for added heavyness.

If you're learning modes, you need to learn all about the major scale, intervals, chord building, harmonizing the major scale, etc., before you begin to even touch on modes. The Crusades articles help alot.

EDIT: And to your other questions: it doesn't matter what note is played most. It's about what the tonal center is. What note/chord the other notes pull toward to resolve. I could play a B a billion times in E major while only playing E twice, and it would still be E major as long as it resolved to an E.
Last edited by DiminishedFifth at Mar 5, 2009,
Just learn all your diatonic scales. Most solos dont stay in a single mode or pattern
Alexi Laiho said this an interview with Total Guitar: "It's more about what I don't use. I'm not into the harmonic minor, I like the pentatonic. I add the flat five and major six and whatever the **** to that. Just basic major and minor scales 'cos when you don't overdo it, it can come out sounding pretty good." Hope that helps
Church burning is good for the (social) environment

_██_
(ಠ_ృ--------

Quote by theknuckster