Just wondering how long it took some of you guys to acquire a decent skill with the guitar. Of course there are no limits to how good somebody can be, but I was just curious as to how fast or slow people learn. What where some of the things that gave you or still give you trouble.
1 year.

Chord transitions.... my worst enemy >:

Please add me if as a friend I helped! (I like to think I'm a friendly person)
well ive been playing for about six and a half months and all i can do is play the intro to "my will be done" by unearth and play "pestilence" by the faceless.
Quote by Invokke_Havokk
1 year.

Yea I have trouble with those.

I've been playing for roughly 3 months. Pull offs, and just speed in general is tough right now. But I'm taking lessons, which help a lot.
Quote by tknick90
Yea I have trouble with those.

I've been playing for roughly 3 months. Pull offs, and just speed in general is tough right now. But I'm taking lessons, which help a lot.

Pull Offs were tricky, but I got them down within 2 months.

Speed will come when your hands become used to your guitar. I played at 60-80bpm for almost the entire year, only recently breaking 120bpm. (I wasn't focused on speed, I still am not. But I figure if I can play it accurately at 120bpm, I can play it accurately at 108bpm, or 75bpm)

You'll gain speed with practice, pull offs you just need to learn how to properly pull off.

I can do the chords, but most transitions are really slow for me unless I just sit there practicing it for half an hour.

/and I like keeping my practice EFFICIENT but FUN, something that practicing the chord transitions just isn't for me.

Please add me if as a friend I helped! (I like to think I'm a friendly person)
if you work really hard then around 8 months and you will play almost decently (well... not really) but you could play some really simple rhythm.
Once you can alternate pick without even thinking about it your kind of ok... sort of
it all depends on how much you practice