I'm a theoretical noob... and what is it about the combination of the rhythm and lead riff at this part in the song that makes it sound so nice?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HUEMro7ePDQ

at about 59 seconds the riff starts...

I think the *rhythm* riff is Am, G, F.... I don't know what the lead part is....

Would appreciate any input..thanks.
███████████████████████████████████
Last edited by tona_107 at Mar 6, 2009,
It sounds good because it sounds good. Theory doesn't answer why something sounds good or bad.... those are simply opinions that we ourselves have.

If you want to know what key it's in, or what chords are used..... thats something that can be answered by theory.

btw @ :59 he comes in with a minor pentatonic lick. is that the one you mean?
shred is gaudy music
Last edited by GuitarMunky at Mar 6, 2009,
Quote by GuitarMunky
It sounds good because it sounds good. Theory doesn't answer why something sounds good or bad.... those are simply opinions that we ourselves have.

If you want to know what key it's in, or what chords are used..... thats something that can be answered by theory.

aren`t there terms like relative and harmony that describe the relation to the notes that describe why something sounds the way it does? this is what i am asking.
Quote by tona_107
aren`t there terms like relative and harmony that describe the relation to the notes that describe why something sounds the way it does? this is what i am asking.

@ :59 he comes in with a minor pentatonic lick. is that the one you mean? It would be A minor pentatonic if your right about the chords (which sounds right.... but I don't have a guitar with me to confirm the actual key)
shred is gaudy music
Quote by GuitarMunky
@ :59 he comes in with a minor pentatonic lick. is that the one you mean? It would be A minor pentatonic if your right about the chords (which sounds right.... but I don't have a guitar with me to confirm the actual key)