so i've been playing for about 2 1/2 months now...but i didn't get really serious until about a month ago.

when i first started playing, i mostly worked on learning songs that i liked that were also easy to play (alot of clapton, john mayer, dmb). i also didn't play the electric at this time because for some odd reason i thought that electric was alot harder to play than acoustic.

however, what first inspired me to pick up the guitar was listening to satriani/vai/gilbert/petrucci so about a month ago, my brother gave me his old fender and i've been playing on that since.

my long time goal is to be able to play good covers of the above artists and eventually branch out and write my own material.

so about a month ago, i decided i was not progressing as much as i would like, so i decided to search for guides on practicing. well...i think i found the practice bible that everybody searches for....steve vai's 10 hour workout.

now i have a full time job so i can't practice 10 hours a day (or i would be exhausted in the morning and may screw up my surgeries)...but for the last month i've been practicing about 5-7 hours a day and following steve vai's 10 hour workout pretty exclusively.

a month later, i think i've progressed a tremendous amount. i started playing all the exercises at about 15-20 BPM with 16th notes and now i can play all the excerciese clean at 75-85 BPM with 16th notes up and down the entire neck. my technique has gotten alot better, i'm playing more accurately/faster than i was before, i've learned alot of scales and a moderate amount of music theory, etc etc.

however, what i'm worried about is i still don't know how to play a single song on the electric. i've still been playing songs on my acoustic (although alot less, i only spend about an hour playing songs now vs 4-5 previously) but i've been working mostly on speed/technique exercises on the electric.