Is it bad if you can't play other people/artist/bands songs very well or at all but are good at improv/your own style? What is more respectable? I really SUCK at learning and playing already written songs by other bands, and when ever I try I just say f u c k this and start improving my own ****. Is this a bad habit though? I've been playing for 5 years and I really can't play many known songs at all, for both lack of interest and ability. Should I break this habit?
its not a bad thing... but it all really depends on what direction your going with for guitar
I think you'll learn a lot from already existing music. Don't learn it to be "more respectable" though... that's just silly. Learn music that you like, because you like it, and/or you can learn something valuable by doing it.
shred is gaudy music
learn songs your interested in, not what other people know/like
Warning: The above post may contain lethal levels of radiation, sharp objects and sexiness.
Proceed with extreme caution!
It isn't a bad thing, but you should be able to play other songs better.

I am kind of like that. When I just improv shred, my playing gets fast and is still smooth and sounds good. Yet, when I try to learn a solo that is at around the same speeds, I can't manage to do it.

Once again, you shouldn't HAVE to learn other songs. You won't make it anywhere playing covers, you need to write your own stuff. Only practice songs you want to play.
Quote by user_nameless
You can go ahead and sponge my bob.

/notfunnyatalljoke.

Quote by halo43
When you date a vegetarian, you're the only meat they'll ever eat.
I'll answer your question with a question, who's more respected; the guy that can play every megadeth solo at 200bpm or the guys that wrote that solo? Which one would you pay to see?
        |\
[U]        | |                     [/U]
[U]        |/     .-.              [/U]
[U]       /|_     `-’       |      [/U]
[U]      //| \      |       |      [/U]
[U]     | \|_ |     |     .-|      [/U]