Page 1 of 2
Alright, so I am a self taught guitar player. I learned some theory, some scales, got bored, and did my own thing. Anyway, my question is simple.

If theory is just that.....THEORY, why do musicians accept it? I mean, I assume when theory was being developed it was based on what notes sounded good or worked together, because after all, that is in essence what music is. Anyway, I can come up with any combination of notes that sound good randomly, do a quick check and find that they fit under this "music theory" that musicians follow. This is I assume because music theory is soo encompassing that if it sounds good, it was constructed or can be explained by theory.

fine, I accept that. My question is what is to stop someone from coming up with a completely different set of rules that encompasses all the notes that work together, ignoring keys, root notes, scales, semi tones, octaves. Your answer is probably something to the effect of "well if these notes work together they can be explained by common music theory". I know that but why cant I come up with a different REASON for why they work? Think outside the box so to speak.

Its gotten to the point where I think theory is just an easy way for musicians to communicate and play each others music. If music theory were not widely accepted, it wouldnt really be beneficial now would it?

I dont know, maybe I am just looking for a needle in a haystack that isnt there. What if I dont think that the low "e" tuned in standard is an "e" at all? what if I call that 6, and the "a" is 5? what if instead of using musical notes, musicians were taught to use numbers instead? See where I am getting at? Everyone who is a virtuoso at music theory is really just rehashing what has already been determined, and what has been taught to you. You are a slave to the god of music so to speak.

Im more interested in the history OF music theory and less about music theory itself.