I was reading about Red Hot Chili Peppers writhing 38 songs for Stadium Arcadium and various composers with hundreds of peices of music written. I have been playing guitar for 4 years and I dont even have one!!! I just cant do it. I cant write one, let alone 38 or hundreds. Why? Anyone else experiance this?
Go become a pop diva, you can release an album without writing even one song...

I kid, I kid, I'm sure they're all very talented...

But seriously, I've found songwriting to be a combination of technical skill and inspiration, and I would suggest these five things to help, in no particular order (as they worked for me at least):

1. Get some composition software; I got Guitar Pro, and it made thing much easier instantly, since you can write an entire song/score yourself without having to rely on others. Very, VERY useful.

2. Get some more technical skill; I've been playing guitar for roughly 6 years, and I'm nowhere near as good as I should be, but I've picked up enough about theory technique that I can harmonize with most chord/powerchord progressions, I can figure out what chords sound good together and so on. Actually that's one pitfall of Guitar Pro, in the beginning I ended up writing a lot of stuff that was way above my level, and when the time to record came... well it was embarrassing, so watch out for that.

3. Read over UG's archives; a lot of brilliant people have written a lot of great articles on here, the answers to most of your questions, can very often be found within.

4. Listen to more music; Pretty self-explanatory, listen to the best, maybe you'll become the best. There's a fine line between stealing and appropriation, walk on it.