Ok, I when playing a song I can just sort of feel when the next note is coming up and have a natural sense of timing..however I know nothing at all about drums and would like to know how to keep time by listening to them. Yes I know how to use a metronome and sub divide beats.

What do I listen for?

Also when you learn a song do you look at a section and be like "Ok this is repeated 4 times, then the chorus is twice, and then the pre solo for 2 bars, etc?"

On the songs I will be learning soon they aren't to hard for me technically because I've improved alot but another issue I have is memorizing what to play and when..so I get lost there too. What do you guys do?
Last edited by Rave765 at Mar 9, 2009,
I just started learning full songs and I realized I have to listen to the song gajillions of times to get certain parts down and by then you know the song structure like the back of your hand
For the drums question, I really can't give you much in the way of description I'm sorry My housemate is a drummer so I just asked him to play a few basic 4/4 drum beats and got the hang of it, then when he got a bit more creative I picked it up. Honestly, if you have the basic idea about timing/rythm you should be ok.

I usually know the song I'm learning pretty well to start out with which helps because I play a lot of the music/songs I like to listen to. Normally I 'build' the pieces like the verse or chorus (breaking it up into small pieces, linking to the next piece, slowly bringing it up to speed etc.) and then all I need to really remember is the order of things (play the verse, then the chorus twice etc.).

If you're having trouble with the knowing what the play next part I'd recommend writing down the structure to work from (verse, chorus, verse, chorus, bridge/solo, chorus etc.) If you've learnt the pieces individually well enough the remembering what to play next part should be pretty easy to figure out