whatup everyone. So basically ive been learning guitar for 4 months now on really cheap acoustic and my birthdays coming up so I want to buy an electric. I want to get the best beginner guitar possible. I realize you get what you pay for but im looking for a cheaper electric thats good quality and will last me anywhere from 2-3 years. I need one that wont fall apart, and that I can use to continue my learning on and also jam with other people on, but i dont need a guitar to play a stadium obviously. Some of my friends have told me to get the Squier by Fender bullet or affinity fat strat and i saw these online at guitarcenter for around $120 and $180. I love to play blues, alternative, and rock. Stuff like coldplay, pink floyd, SRV, jeff beck, john mayer if that matters at all. I basically just need some advice cause I realize when your looking at lower end gear it can be hit and miss. Any suggestions and advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks guys
Try to find something midranged used.
Use the search bar for what people think about any guitars you think you may get, trust me most guitars have been talked to death on here.

TL;DR=go used and use the search bar.
Nah, get the squier. Its the best guitar for everything BUT gigs.
Quote by Jaymz_515
I pretend I'm a huge spider laying eggs, then when I flush the toilet I fall to floor screaming "MY CHILLLDRENN!! NOOOO!"

If you're flammable and have legs, you are never blocking a fire exit.
- Mitch Hedberg
Quote by Jacoiskoby
Nah, get the squier. Its the best guitar for everything BUT gigs.

See if you can get one of those starter packs that come with an amp.
RULE: Don't get anything that looks badass for a beginner guitar. It most likely sucks. Although there are always exceptions, buy something very standard and sturdy looking. DON'T let salesmen talk you into buying something expensive.
Quote by BonezShaker
DONT get the Squier !! Get A Yamaha Pacifica 112J they are much much better

This.