Hi guy's, newby to this forum. just purchased a used fender strat with no serial number of any sort under the neck heel, or nothing stamped in the neck pocket of the body.

However, it does have the serial number stamped on the neckplate, which i guess could be purchased from anywhere, it starts E 4, which might sugest a japanese model.

It also dont have any serial number on the headstock, but has little bits of fender hardware like saddles etc.

Original pickups have been removed and raplaced with hotrail style pickups ( dont know which brand)..

I have a feeling it's nothing more than a frankenstein monster, but it seems to play fine, feels like the real deal, but since i'm just new to fender, i would like some advice on what to check for authenticity..
Pictures please of the front and back of headstock, the plate you mentioned and general pictures of the entire guitar. Highest quality you can get so we can see clearly.
hmm, Does it say Fender on the headstock? I'm no Fender expert at all, In fact, I used to think they were ugly and to popular, but now my thoughts have changed.

PICSPICSPICSPICS!
Try searching the whole serial number on Google, as you didn't include it all in your post.
This might be better put in GB&A(Gear Building&Accsesories)

It could be someone elses frankenstrat, That woud be okay, I guess. Also, check what the body is made of.
..I was watching my death.
How much did you pay for it?
Do you know if it's made in America or Japan?

It's probably legit, but I got these when I searched the serial number:

"Your guitar was made at the
Fuji-gen Plant (for Fender Japan), Japan
in the Year(s): 1984 - 1987 "

or

"Your guitar was made at the
Fullerton or Corona Plant (Fender), USA
in the Year(s): 1984 - 1988"

So, it's iffy.
[[[The Game]]]
Quote by VictorVella

This thread proves Gigatiran is awesome, and a lot more awesome than your average awesome. I bet he even owns a duster like Dennis Reynolds.
Last edited by Gigatiran at Mar 9, 2009,