hi im new to playing bass, ive been playing guitar for over 5 years, but just decided that i want to learn bass. On guitar i like my action real low but when i set the action on the bass low all i get is fret buzz, the only time i get it to where the strings dont buzz is when i have the action high. Im using D'addario mediums, running from .050, .070, .085, .105, .130. 5 string bass tuned with low B
Crank your rig on 12, let it feedback wide-open for a good two minutes, freak your neighbors out and ENJOY THE POWER OF THE GUITAR! 'Oh, what a feeling,' and it ain't no damned Toyota!" ----Dimebag Darrell
sounds like you need a truss rod adjustment. a pro set-up at the shop is highly recommended. this site can also help. good luck
www.tunemybass.com/bass_setup
damn i was kinda hoping i didnt have to mess with the truss rod. eh oh well, thanks
Crank your rig on 12, let it feedback wide-open for a good two minutes, freak your neighbors out and ENJOY THE POWER OF THE GUITAR! 'Oh, what a feeling,' and it ain't no damned Toyota!" ----Dimebag Darrell
sorta sounds like your neck is bowing backwards..

and truss rod adjustments are pretty easy once you get over the fear of wrecking your instrument
-
-
--
---
-----
--------
-------------
Yay fibonacci!
Quote by capslockisnton
sorta sounds like your neck is bowing backwards..

and truss rod adjustments are pretty easy once you get over the fear of wrecking your instrument

And the chances of wrecking your instrument are very low if you actually follow the instructions correctly.
Sounds like you think the bass is a guitar - low action on a bass relative to the action of a guitar is totally different. A guitar player would consider low bass action to be sky-high.
Quote by Cody_Grey102
I was looking at a used Warwick Vampyre LTD 5'er for about $200. I went home to grab my wallet and came back and some jerk with an epic beard got it already..
I could possibly be the truss rod, just check if it has a bow in it.