ive been playing for a couple of years now, but only seriously for the past 1 3/4. throughout this time, my fingertips have never stopped peeling. does there come a time when they stop peeling or do they just keep on peeling and peeling for as long as i play?
Pedal GAS?
Empress Heavy
ISP Dec of some sort
Keeley Katana
TC Corona/Vortex/Dreamscape
Let them recover - they will callus as the others have said. I wouldn't reccomend this but: I used to play guitar until my fingers hurt, not nescesarily peeled and few days later they became resistant.
Quote by AdroG
Let them recover - they will callus as the others have said. I wouldn't reccomend this but: I used to play guitar until my fingers hurt, not nescesarily peeled and few days later they became resistant.

Same here.
But I recommend this technique.
“The guy said NBA players are one in a million, ... I said, 'Man, look, I'm going to be that one in a million.'”
Kobe Bryant
well, my frethand fingertips are considerably harder than my picking hand... have they callused? because they still peel.

i never play until my fingers hurt, because they don't (they used to maybe 3 years ago) - they feel exactly the same before and after playing (even for a 5 hour session)
Pedal GAS?
Empress Heavy
ISP Dec of some sort
Keeley Katana
TC Corona/Vortex/Dreamscape
incorporate more barre chords and sliding into your playing and your fingers will peel more/callus faster
Hmmm...it doesn't sound like a lack of callusses. If you didn't have callusses, your fingertips would hurt like a b*tch after 5 hours. Besides they usually only take a month or two to mostly develop from the start of regular playing.

Maybe you've just got a bit of a dry skin problem. Have you tried rubbing a bit of lotion into your fingertips to make sure they don't get too dry?
Use sandpaper soon as they START to peel.
Ibanez RGR421EXFM, Michael Kelley Vex NV, Ovation Celebrity. Carvin V3