Hi. I usually play music like Rise Against and some Metallica, but i seem to have a problem with my picking speed.

I've been playing for around 2 years and i don't consider myself to be a noob guitarist, but when it comes to picking (especially downstroke picking) im really bad.

It's really really bad. It's almost as i can't do the beginning riff on Master of Puppets. And if you take a listen to a song called Paper Wings by Rise Against (the second intro part) that is how fast i can pick. It's almost as if my hand just can't take any more, and there doesn't seem to be a way to improve my picking speed.

This is really starting to get annoying and frustrating as there is other songs i'd like to learn which requires fast picking, but i don't seem to get any faster speed no matter how much i practise.

I use a soft pick, but that doesn't make me suck 10% more than if i were to use a thick pick, would it?:P
Last edited by elloel at Mar 10, 2009,
Try using a hard, thick pick, maybe a 1.0mm Jazz III (very popular picks those, I use them too) and alternate pick. Superfast downstrokes aren't needed very often so it's often a better idea to pick alternatively. Alternate = fast + less effort

EDIT. Master of Puppets intro is just downstrokes, don't alternate pick that one
Basically for downstrokes, just like alternate picking, try to do as small motion as possible and stay focused on keeping the right rhythm. A metronome is helpful here too.
Last edited by Lewadra at Mar 10, 2009,
Yea i know, but on some songs there you just have to use downstrokes. Like on paper wings and master of puppets (the intros)