Now if this question has been asked before ...do spare my life...i got future wife and children to feed

ok.... Is it advisable to switch from a 6-string guitar which ive been for like 5 yrs now to a 8-string guitar, another problem is im not sure how comfy i would be with an 8-string as my country is stupid and does not have in the market yet, so i cant sample it, unless some one can tell me what is the lenght of a standard 8-string guitar's neck width or demention can be? from top string nut to the bottom string nut width ( yes 5yrs of playing and im still a noob to terminologies)

thanks guys
what exactly is the point of a 8 string
ive heard of a 7 but a 8 is completely totally and utterly pointless
Quote by satcre3

i agree
Well have you ever heard of the band after the burial? listen to their song berzerker. Both players use 8 strings and it sounds amazing.
Quote by satcre3

Same here.
I'M BACK IN THE SADDLE
Most 8 strings I've seen have a 27 inch scale length, and a 55 mm nut width. But if you go to the Ultimate 7 string/ERG legion They can probably help more than me

Also it may take a few days (2-3) to get used to the neck, but once you do you'll be fine.
Last edited by DartS17 at Mar 10, 2009,
Quote by Ghold125
not to be a dick, but why not just play bass?

Because bass is 750,000,000% different...
You can call me Aaron.

♠♣♥♦
Out on parole, any more instances of plum text and I get put back in...
Ghold125 : not to worry your not
Ans: nah bro alredy have a bass player , we just want a heavier sound, so just looking at my options

satcre3 : i know there might be no point but i still want to the comfortability of playing an 8 string
Quote by DartS17
Most 8 strings I've seen have a 27 inch scale length, and a 55 mm nut width. But if you go to the Ultimate 7 string/ERG legion They can probably help more than me

Also it may take a few days (2-3) to get used to the neck, but once you do you'll be fine.

finally a positive answer thanks alot mate