I wanna learn guitar. but i have a couple questions

1) are guitar lessons worth it? is it worth it for the teacher to correct ur mistake as ur starting out?

cause im thinkin of doing it im own, b/c i already know how to read music and played the sax before.. so im thkin learnin the basic first and evnetually go bit more advance entirely on my own.

2) wuts decent guitar for under $200, im a student, so i dont have alot of cash to spend around.. so i wanna get a decent guitar that i can use for now, then as i become better, i can move onto a better quality one. i live in toronto,canada.. so can someone recommand me a good store to get it?( i only know steve's music)

thx!
1. I never took lessons so i dunno

2. This was my first guitar:

It works pretty well plus i've upgraded it quite a bit so it sounds pretty good. It's a beauty to. Bought it for $150-170, cant remember.
Sail upon the open skies
Lessons are definitely worth it, and for a beginner guitar just get like an ibanez or epiphone starter pack that comes with an amp.

http://guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/Ibanez-RG7321-7String-Electric-Guitar?sku=518876
Soon you will sit on the bench
of those who deny I have my soul
You sell a dream you create
Condemned by what you condemned before
Smooth are the words you sing down and high
Underground is your joy your laws
Last edited by MedicreDemon at Mar 10, 2009,
Quote by angusfan16

It works pretty well plus i've upgraded it quite a bit so it sounds pretty good. It's a beauty to. Bought it for $150-170, cant remember.

First acts suck! :P

Honestly, the guitar isn't as important as you'd think. All that matters is the general quality, which would be like the tuning stability, tone and sustain, and the reliability. I'd say be willing to spend as much on an amp if not more.
Quote by crazy8rgood

Oh, look at those naughty waffles and their banana's...

*fapfapfapfapfap*

(if this is against the rules, I'll take it down.)
Lesson are worth it, very helpful