hi guys,

Im shortly to be travelling to tokyo followed by a Uni course so now seems like a godd time to be buying a computer (probably laptop). I am a total noob to electronic and general music production but am intending to get into it. So naturally a comp that is able to handle the kind of programs and gear that i will be wanting to run will be needed. I'm guessing bigger is probably going to = better in this case but some minimums would be great to know.

I'm planning to be running cubase as a main recording program, for a start is this the best call ((i know a lot is down to personal preference, but will this do what i want?)).

Hopeing to be makin tunes that are along the lines of Pendulum, Prodigy, aphex tiwn. That kinda ball park. Along with guitar recording (DI-ed cant have mikes in a uni room...Likewise synth drums)

Thank you for any help given, it is greatlyappreciated.

Also, any books that are to be recomended for the self learning of electronic music.
A lot of( and then I mean A LOT OF) muscians use Apple, i also can reccomend you looking into mac's. I know they have a big price label but da.n those things are easy to use. The macbook pro for instance, it has a great soundcard! If i'm right it has a 2,4gHz core2duo and like 4 GB RAM. So this little guy will do the job for u.
Hope it helped you?
Friendly greetings Dimitri
Quote by Dimitri92
A lot of( and then I mean A LOT OF) muscians use Apple, i also can reccomend you looking into mac's. I know they have a big price label but da.n those things are easy to use. The macbook pro for instance, it has a great soundcard! If i'm right it has a 2,4gHz core2duo and like 4 GB RAM. So this little guy will do the job for u.
Hope it helped you?
Friendly greetings Dimitri

Meh, I'd say the split between Apple and PC is about 50/50 especially for electronic stuff (a couple of the development tools for programming sounds are PC only as well), I would stay away from Mac unless you really want Logic pro.