I'm in search of a new amp around $300 used
My two main choices are the Fender Blues Junior and the Fender Super Champ XD
They are two very different amps and I like the SCXD because of its versatility
but I've heard many good things about the Blues Jr.
The Fender SCXD is around 275 to 300 on eBay
while I've seen Blues Jr.'s sell for 350 - 400
I'm just a beginner thats been learning for under a year so I don't have tons of cash to spend on an amp and my thinking is the cheaper the better.
Is the Blues Jr. worth the extra 50 to 100?
Also what are the pros and cons of either or both.
How do they compare in sound as amps. I like blues rock and some classic rock
thanks
The Super Champ XD is a modeling amp, still tube, still great tone, just with a few effects and models built in. However, since your styles are PERFECTLY suited for the Blues Jr. I would probably go for it. IMO the Super Champ XD does a great job of EMULATING the Fender sound, and the Blues Jr. has it.
Quote by Cathbard
Quote by Raijouta
Unless its electronic drums.

BURN THE WITCH!!!!!
I would be inclined to say the Blues Jr. It has a larger speaker, which is a big plus right off the bat. And you will have a great platform for adding pedals. I have a Pro Jr and it's a great amp, but Blues Jr is better.
I played both of these before buying my Super Champ. The advantages of the Super Champ are versatility, sounds better at low volumes and built-in effects. The advantage of the Blues Jr. is the tone is better, not tons better, the SC has some sweet tones, but the BJr. is really nice for older rock, blues and cleans. The BJ has to be pretty loud to get the really nice dirty sound, where the SC can be much quieter and still sound fairly nice.
This decision was made easier for me, as the SC is just a practice amp, I play a Marshall tube for my main amp to get the nicest tones. Try them both out, only you can decide which is best for your needs.