Does it just run an FFT and compare the peak frequency with known notes? Run a power spectrum and test against max energy? Or is it doing something else?

While I'm at it, how is a chromatic tuner better? Does the non-chromatic just know the 6 strings of your guitar (or whatever instrument it's for), while the chromatic knows all the notes? If that's the case, why are chromatic tuners so much more expensive? I'm a programmer, there ain't much difference between searching a 6 element table and searching an 80+ element table.
I believe it has something to do with frequencies and how they pick up.

(Eg; 440 is standard tuning if I remember correctly)

Also, while 'searching' the table, it has to be able to pick up those frequencies. The chromatic tuner is able to pick up more frequencies.

(It's like asking why buying a guitar with better pickups generally costs more.....)

I'm more of a coder, less of a programmer though... so...

Please add me if as a friend I helped! (I like to think I'm a friendly person)
Last edited by Invokke_Havokk at Mar 12, 2009,
There you go yes it analizes freq. and compares them to the set most tuners alow you to change the freq.
it just measures the input signal and displays the note relative to how many Hz are being input. concert A = 440Hz, and all other notes are tuned relative to that.

chromatic is better because it shows you all 12 notes, whichever you are playing.

a non-chromatic tuner will only tune to E B G D A and sometimes C or F. non-chromatic tuners sometimes have a special function to tune to Eb or Ebb, so all the notes are achievable if you know how to work the note names, but a chromatic tuner is way more convenient.
Last edited by frigginjerk at Mar 12, 2009,