Okay so basically I'm gonna be starting teaching my friend to play guitar this Friday. I'm not charging her cause she's a friend but she's a complete beginner and I've never properly taught anyone either. It's been a few years since I started so it's a bit hard to remember what it was like =S

Is there anything in particular I should start out with teaching? simple smoke on the water like riffs? some easy chords?

Thanks
spiders(chromatic 1234 stuff up and down the strings) and the open major and minor chords

c, a, g, e, d, am, em, dm
Quote by Sicko 21X7
tremelo the brown note until she caves
Last edited by istealpants at Mar 12, 2009,
intro of bombtrack - rage against the machine. absolutely no rhythms to worry about.
Pedal GAS?
Empress Heavy
ISP Dec of some sort
Keeley Katana
TC Corona/Vortex/Dreamscape
Just have patience, don't forget to teach how to actually hold the pick and hold the guitar, this is obvious to us but they are foreign objects to others

Teach simple down picking on a single string (look at some slow iron maiden melodies which are simple and fun).

Teach simple chords both open chords and powerchords.

Then just progress from there try and share between lead and rhythm (I made the mistake of concentrating on lead, I found it hard to pick up rhythm playing).
Don't throw too much info out at once as it may confuse.
Quote by Bob_Smith
intro of bombtrack - rage against the machine. absolutely no rhythms to worry about.

i wouldn't say that is a beginner riff, it can be confusing and yeah there is little movement but still..
Teach her something that she can play, not just exercises - like a couple of simple riffs or a 12 bar blues using power chords. Catch her interest first lesson, and get her playing something that sounds like something reasonably quickly, then look at some more technical stuff like open chords next time.
Quote by Hot Jam Sushi