Another post here at UG kinda "inspired" me to write about my own progress.

I've been playing for about 2 months now (basically whenever I have time) and I kinda wanted to check in with UG and see how I was doing.

If you want to hear some of my stuff, check out my profile.

Let me start with this:

The only instrument I've ever played before this was the trumpet
I have had no lessons (all self-taught and whatever videos I can find online)

So, I'm really just starting out.

I'm learning riffs to some songs, and I'll watch some video lessons I have on my computer.

I really want to make sure I'm learning this all right.

What should I be practicing? I feel like I'm just randomly grabbing tabs and attempting to play them.

I really don't have the time or the money for lessons, but I know I can learn a lot of this stuff on my own.

What should I be learning?

Thanks!
When the power of love overcomes the love of power, the world will know peace. - Jimi Hendrix
You should maybe find a couple of basic scales (and chords if you haven't already) and then strength excersises which will help you progress along.

You could also invest in a metronome (If you dont already have on) to play along to and make sure your posture is corect, you don't want to get a load of bad habits in when you start (Like I did )
Check the techniques forum for some excersises to do
Quote by liam-rooney
You should maybe find a couple of basic scales (and chords if you haven't already) and then strength excersises which will help you progress along.

You could also invest in a metronome (If you dont already have on) to play along to and make sure your posture is corect, you don't want to get a load of bad habits in when you start (Like I did )
Check the techniques forum for some excersises to do

I actually have a metronome, and I have some videos that talk about proper posture as well.

But I'll check out the techniques forum later.