I have two Duncan Designed humbuckers in my guitar right now and am thinking about switching them out for some Dimarzios, I'm thinkin about Blaze or D-sonics. I've noticed these pickups are around $100 each, so here is my question, are these things going to blow my mind?? I'm fairly new with this stuff and have never had "big name" pickups like this before. Are they really worth the switch?
No, they won't. Pickups don't make a huge difference on your tone. You'll notice a bigger difference if you have an articulate amp. You may not notice a difference at all through a modeling amp or a cheap ss starter amp.
I don't give a shit if you listen to me or not
i agree with the guy above certen pickups will make a huge sound change the i have a guitar with emg hz's passive and it sounds amazing and i have a guitar with a dimebucker and theres a huge difference now you might need a good amp to really tell...what kinda sound are you going for????
If you want a more drastic change in tone, get a new amp, or even a new speaker for the amp you have now.
Line 6 SpiderValve 112 - Strymon SV Pre; G12-K100
Ibanez RG Custom Built - Seymour Duncan JB/Jazz
Line 6 M13
i concur with 'new amp' suggestions, nothing will change your tone like a new box of sound!! even when i switched from a mediocre SS practice amp to a good quality modeler (Vox), the increase in sound quality was hugely noticeable!!!
My MAIN Gear
*Dunlop CFH
*fellow LEO feel free to give a shout out