Hey yeah, I'm planning on getting either a Gibson Les Paul Studio or a Fender Mex Tele, and I'm wondering what things should I lookout for when buying and testing them out. I know tone is one thing but jsut to get that obvious part out. I want to know if theres any specific things that i should check before making hte choice and buying it.
~Vince

EDIT: Forgot to mention this..I've been playing for almsot 3 years xD currently owning a Squier Fat Strat. Sorry if i forgot that
~Vince~
Fender MIM Telecaster ('06) [Modded]
PRS S2 Custom 24 ('13) [Modded]
Squier Affinity Fat Strat [Modded]
Yamaha F310

Mesa/Boogie Lonestar 1x12 Combo
Mesa/Boogie Mark V:25

SD Vapor Trail
Xotic SL Drive
Xotic BB Preamp
Boss BD-2
Boss DS-1 [MonteAllums]
MXR 10-Band EQ
Last edited by xvasmx at Mar 13, 2009,
Well if you haven't played guitar before then I'd recommend taking a buddy with you that has been playing for a while that way you won't walk out of the store with a piece of junk. Let him show you some that he thinks are worthwhile, and then you should play them and figure out which one you like the best.
Axes:
2010 Carvin ST300C
1994 Jackson Soloist XL Professional
2008 "Jacksbanez"
2007 Gibson Flying V
2003 Epiphone Les Paul Plus

Amps:
Peavey 6505+ Combo
Peavey Classic 30
Peavey Vypyr 15
Make sure that the neck feels comfortable to you, and you can get around the fretboard.
Are there any sharp edges on the frets?
Is the neck straight?
Any blemishes on the finish?
Is it too heavy for you to play standing up w/ a strap?
these are just some basic things to think about-there's plenty more.
Don't go into guitar shopping with any pre-conceived notions of any sort. Be completely open to anything and everything. Ultimately, you want to pick something that is very comfortable to play and use, and is able to get the type of sounds you want out of it.

╠═══════╬═══════╣

THE ARCHITECT σƒ τλε τρπ βπστλεπλσσδ

╠═══════╬═══════╣

drone/doom/post-metal: http://theygrieve.bandcamp.com