Newbie here. I have been playing for about 3 months and have a Squeir Strat. I don't have any real problems with it, it seems to sound ok (to my untrained ear) but was thinking about doing some upgrades, like tuners, tremolo, pickups, pots and pickguard. Using good components, I estimate it will cost about $400, plus I would learn a lot about the guitar, etc.

I would eventually like to buy an American Strat, but am thinking that upgrading my Squier would be an interim step and then will have two guitars with different sounds.

I've read a lot of posts that say to spend the money on a MIM or save to buy the American, that spending money on a Squier is not worth it. The money is not a huge issue, although I don't like to waste. My wife say buy the American.

I would really like to hear from others that have upgraded Squiers on whether they think it was worth the cost and effort. Any experience with the Fender Texas Specials or the GFS pups?

Any insights would be helpful!!!

I am mostly self-taught so far, but started taking lessons (today is lesson #2, so far it is great) and i like blues & classic rock (SRV, Jimi Hendrix, Jimmy Page, etc.).

Thanks for any help!!!
Last edited by C-Squared at Mar 14, 2009,
it really not worth it but you need to change the tuners and get better pick ups. i got some almost brand new for free cant remember the name but they were some noisless ones from fender. A far as scratch plates and pick up covers go it cost me less than 20 to change everything on mine.
I like the Squier necks so I probably wouldn't replace it unless you want a Maple fretboard. As far as things to do, I'd:

• Do a proper set-up
  • Replace the pots and switch with American parts
  • Shield all the cavities
  • Replace the wires with shielded wires ala Gibson (also helps tame the SC buzz)
  • Dress the frets
  • Replace the bridge with a used MIM Standard Strat bridge from 2007 or later - has the heftier trem block and is a direct replacement