Hey

I've been playing for about 6 years now, I consider myself an intermediate player. My biggest issue is playing lead or legato and keeping it clean without any other string ringing. It's something I've yet to over come and it's such a basic thing.

So I'm asking if anyone has any tips to help, maybe a video to suggest or a link to an article on this issue. I'm like everyone else, just wanting to sound the best I can.

Thanks a lot in advanced.

Shane
only way, is to mute it with ur palm , or practice slow and stop the ringing then build up speed... or use other fingers to block the ringing string..
alot of people consider it "cheating" but alot of the greats do it. put a sweat band or somethin on the top around it, and it will absorb any sound. just cant do pulloff's to open strings.
I've been playing for 8 months and I have been contantly practicing to work around that problem as well, like in one section of Neverender - Coheed and Cambria:

e|---------------------------------------------------------------------------|
B|---------------*4*5--------------*4*5--------------*4*5---------------*4*5-|
G|---------------------------------------------------------------------------|
D|-66666666666666----66666666666666----44444444444444------------66-66-------|
A|-44444444444444----00000000000000----00000000000000----77-77-7777-77-------|
E|-------------------------------------------------------55-55-5555-55-------|

where it is particularly difficult to play those power chords and not hit the other strings, unless you downstroke, then somehow mute them while seemlessly transitioning to pinch harmonics on the 2nd string and back into the power chords.