I've been noticing this push for people to say "People with disabilities" instead of disabled people. The thought is that you are putting the person before the disability - the disability does not define the individual.

What do you think of this? I personally think we are just kidding ourselves. Does it really make a difference? While talking about it in my Human Development class, we were constantly being corrected, making the whole thing an even bigger deal. We even watched a documentary and one of the disabled people (see it's just natural speech?) interviewed called themselves a "disabled person" without even thinking. That makes me think they don't even think about it.

What do you make of all this?
Quote by PaperStSoapCo
Vagina's tend to be not all that great looking most of the time. It's all... flappy. Looks sloppy.

I'd have to say guy junk wins but not by much. It's like winning a beauty contest against Steve Buscemi.
cripples an retards?
It's Ok, I'm a Doctor
T-T
(In Obviousness)

Quote by Irishstang_87
Good god, you're a Twilight fan. What are you doing in a scientific discussion?

Quote by Thewickerman666
I just watched a turtle rape a shoe, and must admit I slightly enjoyed it.

I feel dirty
I was once referred to as a "white person" and was really offended. I wish they would've called me a "person who is white." My race does not define me!
I think being american is a disability. and I'm american... it's like downs except worse.
It's Ok, I'm a Doctor
T-T
(In Obviousness)

Quote by Irishstang_87
Good god, you're a Twilight fan. What are you doing in a scientific discussion?

Quote by Thewickerman666
I just watched a turtle rape a shoe, and must admit I slightly enjoyed it.

I feel dirty
I suppose that makes sense. People with disabilities does sound less degrading.

Quote by DegaMeth
Is being American classed as a disability?