So I just received a Sonic Research Turbo Tuner. Ordered it on Friday afternoon and the mail lady dropped it off at my house today (Monday).

Background:
I am a huge researcher kind a guy, I do a ton of reading and visitation to Internet review sites and bulletin boards before I buy things, and I usually buy the best stuff I can afford. From amps to guitars to kayaks to cars...whatever.

I am kinda anal when it comes to tone and sound, I play an almost 30 year old Marshall head and have tweaked and nurtured my tone with lots of research, trial and error and work.

I needed a new tuner, as I was using a Boss TU 12 tuner, that worked OK, but was not ideal for using on my pedal board as it would not mute, hard to read from a distance, and couldn't be placed in line like a true bypass type. I had to run it at the end of my stereo reverb pedal that was in my effects loop.

I considered the Boss pedal tuner, Pitchblack and the Planet Waves pedal tuner based on reviews and talking to friends. In my research I found the Strobe tuner pedal from Peterson too. Problem was it was almost twice the price of the others I was looking at, and some questioned it's ruggedness, although I liked the fact that it was considered precise enough to set intonation.

But I couldn't decide if it was worth the extra hundred bucks, and it was not considered robust.

In my research I found the Sonic Research Turbo Tuner, a true strobe tuner, in a metal case, with all the features I wanted for 70 bucks less than the Peterson.

My experience:
Unwrapped it, it was small, very well built, all metal with allen screws holding the display onto the housing. Appears robust and rugged, thick steel and well engineered.