I've been playing for about 6-7 months now, and I've gotten pretty good at playing chords, especially bar chords, and fingering melodies from songs already made. My main problem now is that I'm sort of in a rut. I want to make the next big leap to perhaps being able to improvise and solo, but I'm not sure where to start. I know you can't teach someone how to improvise, but does anyone have the same problem? And does anyone have any tips on getting unstuck? Thanks a lot!
im sure im not the only one but i had the same problem and ill tell you exactly what i got told. Learn scales! Ive just started learning them and its helped me a hell of a lot even though it does sound like hard work its fun when you get the hang of it.
Wanna know what gear i have? check my profile
Black Beauty Owners Group
Muddy Waters invented electricity

Paul Kossoff = Genius
Well, I started by just trying out various single notes and putting them together.
Eventually you'll get better and better at this as you get to know your guitar and it's sounds.
By that time you'll probably have made up some awesome licks.
This is the part where you are supposed to be amazed by the awesomeness of my sig.
Keep playing scales. Namely the minor pentatonic/blues scale (the latter just has one extra note). Eventually you'll be able to play them without thinking. Then its just a matter of playing around with those notes. You'll start to put together your own sense of phrasing and melody. Start coming up with riffs that sound good to you and play other peoples riffs. The best way to learn musical style is to listen to artists you enjoy.

And as with anything, practice, practice, practice.
BOOM-SHAKALAKALAKA-BOOM-SHAKALAKUNGA
Thanks for all the replies!
It seems like the most important thing I can do is to learn the scales. Does anyone know a good website that shows all the scale patterns, or at least a good number of them? Thanks again.