ive been playing guitar for about 2 years now and im getting frustrated it seems like my skill isnt improving at all even if i play an hour a day every day, i can play things like lamb of god, all that remains, as i lay dying, but when it comes to solos i cant do most of them, and writing my own songs frustrates me, i dont think anything i write sounds good and i cant even begin to write a solo of my own, if anyone knows anyway i can improve please let me know.

thanks in advance!
Fender MIM Stratocaster With YJM pickup in neck
Esp Ltd Kh-202

Crate 15w

Electro Harmonix Metal Muff
DOD Yngwie J. Malmsteen OD
Digitech Rp 80
well it depends what you did for that 2 years. And an hour only? i guess it depends on the free time we all have. But boning up on theory, scales and what not will help with speed/fluency by playing them and knowledge of soloing in general.
Guitars-LEFTY
Bernie Rico Jr. Custom Jekyll
Schecter ATX
Schecter Tempest Cust.
Ibanez GIO
Amps
Laney VH100R-Sell/Trade?? pm me
Cube 15
Misc.
THD HOT plate Attentuator and other stuff
between work and school i can only get in about an hour, i get about 3 on days i practice with my band though
Esp Ltd Kh-202

Crate 15w

Digitech Rp 80
yeah whenever i pic mine up its at least two, but with all the practices for sports its hard haha thats why i just erase some of sleep designated hours. but to improve playing metronome work will always help, and what i said earlier for solos.
Guitars-LEFTY
Schecter ATX
Schecter Tempest Cust.
Ibanez GIO
Amps
Cube 15
Misc.
Be patient, It takes time. You'll get there, I'm sure you remember when you couldn't play easy stuff like Nirvana songs. We've all been there, Remember that a lack of patience is why some people give up learning, Which is sad.

You'll pick up things along the way and eventually play what you want. For example, You can't very well play "Friday" On My Mind" Without alternate strumming!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7zB0RygrYy8