Hey UG,
Sorry if this is in the wrong forum.
Anyways, I've been using this scale quite a lot( Children of Bodom spams it A LOT) and I was wondering which scale it was. I'm a huge theory noob( I'm studying theory in a year).
B Db Eb E Gb Ab A B

e---------------4-5-7-----------
b-------4-5-7--------------
g-4-6------------------------
^right?

Thanks a lot.
Current gear:
Carvin CT6M
TC Electronics Dark Matter distortion
Harley Benton 2x12, with Celestion V30s
Laney Ironheart 60w tube amp
Last edited by LordPino at Mar 18, 2009,
if you have guitar pro, you can tab a riff that uses it and press scale search and it'll tell you
Quote by IDread
You know something is wrong when you have to utter the words "I have ganja in my eye" to your mother...

Quote by RIPKurt67-94
Aliens don't exist. I live on Mars, and I can assure you that there is no life here.

I hijacked this!
Quote by LordPino
B Db Eb E Gb Ab A B?

Mixolydian. But your spelling is wrong, it should be B C# D# E F# G# A B, otherwise it isn't diatonic.
Quote by pwrmax
Mixolydian. But your spelling is wrong, it should be B C# D# E F# G# A B, otherwise it isn't diatonic.

Thanks.
And sorry for the spelling, I'll remember that
Current gear:
Carvin CT6M
Quote by Corruption
if you have guitar pro, you can tab a riff that uses it and press scale search and it'll tell you

How does it work? I tabbed it, selected 'Bar 1 until bar 2', hitted Find! and got nothing..
Current gear:
Carvin CT6M
E Major and B Mixolydian use the same notes, but are not the same scale. The way he has it written is B Mixolydian, but it really depends on the chords that go with it and what note he uses as the tonic.
Quote by Peaceful Rocker
Without seeing what it's played over you can't really say if its BMixolydian or EMajor

It's the lead guitar in Kissing the Shadows by Children of Bodom. They play it in Standard D, starting on 16th fret A( what used to be G) string, thus making it A mixolydian or the major scale, but still.