Alright I've been playing the guitar for about 3 weeks now. Prior to this I had goofed around with the guitar wishing I had a clue what to do with it. Finally I got tired of wishing. And I started learning as much as possible at first I just learned some major/minor chords. And I tried to learn as many as possible but quickly became overwhelmed. (Found out there are over 2,000 chords...)

So then I ran into the chord theory lessons, ate that up. But then I quickly got bored of just playing chords and mixing and matching... Then I tried to play some songs just a few that everyone recommends playing first and a couple choice songs. (Smoke on the Water, Maggie May, Smells Like Teen Spirit, ect.)

And except for Smoke on the Water I noticed it all didn't sound right. Later to figure out I wasn't alternative picking because I didn't really consider that, not knowing what it was tell recently. As well I did have enough speed and all around concept of the guitar to make it sound right.

At that point I was considering giving it up, but I figured maybe I just need to try to learn more about the guitar as it's self then the songs.
So I started to learn some scales, blue scales, a couple majors, ect. Also reading and trying to learn the music theory. For the most part I got the concept down.

Anyway today I wanted to continue learning at full speed. So I've devoted probably 5-6 hours today working on the 5 basic pentatonic scales. And I have them down backwards and frontwards speedwards even though that's not a word...

I'm done practicing for the day but I want to continue full speed tomorrow.
I know that I need to practice alternative picking more. And I probably should practice arpeggios and more major scales as well.

Now getting to the point..
I'm not really looking to play any songs for awhile unless it's to grasp a concept. I just want to learn more about how the guitar works and learn as much as possible about it. So that I can write my own music.