So, the background story:

I'm currently a grade 12 north of the border. I'm a top level student, averaging in the high 80's for my completed 30-level classes (Basically grade 12 level courses). I'm a very strong music and English student who is planning on majoring in journalism. I'm planning on coming back for an extra year of high school to add on some classes (Communication Technologies and Chemistry, both at the 30-level). My girlfriend and I have been talking a lot about our future, and what schools we'd like to apply to for college/university. I've had an interest in schooling outside of the country since the beginning of grade 10, and thus we both decided that we'd each pick one school in the US, and both of us would apply at the schools. After that, if we were accepted, we'd make the final decision about going there, or staying in Canada.

The University of Minnesota is my choice based on a couple of things. One of those reasons is their strong sports program, specifically their hockey team, which dominates the NCAA competition year in and year out. Also, Minnesota's culture is very similar to Canadian culture (I love the culture here, I just want to go somewhere different). The weather is something I'm used to as well. Another contributing factor is my idea in terms of a career path. I'd love to attempt to get a job within the Minnesota Wild organization (They play in St. Paul, not too far from the main university campus). There are other appealing factors to Minnesota, but those are the main ones for me, as crazy as they seem.

I'm just looking for some opinions from current, past, and prospective students, as well as residents of the Minneapolis area on the university and living arrangements. What would it cost me to rent a small house or apartment? What would living expenses in general (Food, etc) cost me? What's tuition like at the university? Lame questions like that.

Why do I go to UG for life advice?
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories