Hey I'm a beginner and this will be my first guitar and decided to go with an acoustic. I've done as much research as I could before I finally posted a question.

I got it narrowed down to a Takamine G340C or a Takamine G440C

From my understanding the 440 has a laminated top and laminated tops are bad compared to solid tops, in which the 340 is solid. But...I'm worried about the solidtop 340 being a dreadnought, in which ,from my understanding, is a bigger guitar. I'm a pretty small guy and a beginner so I'm leaning more towards the 440 which I think is smaller than the Dreadnought...

Is my reasoning correct?

P.S I was also looking at a Dean Performer Archtop which is also a solidtop cutaway. But its electric/acoustic...
If any i'd go for the Dean. Electric/acoustic means that you can amplify it but its still an acoustic guitar, but with pickups or a mic. But seeing as you're new, worry about playability rather than tone.
Gear!
Jackson RR3 with EMGs!
B.C. Rich KKV
Yamaha F-310 Acoustic

Digitech Bad Monkey.

Peavey Valveking 112
I honestly can't even find any model named G340C or G440C. Are you sure you aren't looking at the EG340SC and EG440SC?

Also, I would strongly advise against the dean. They just aren't well built at all. If you need electronics, you can not cheap out. Around $400+ USD is when an acoustic-electric is even worth buying.

The reason for avoiding cheap guitars with electronics is because the cost of the electronics is at least about $75. So if you're paying only $200ish, how well built do you think the rest of the guitar is? Probably and most likely, not very.
Equipment:
- Art & Lutherie Cedar CW (SOLD! )
- Martin D-16RGT w/ LR Baggs M1 Active Soundhole Pickup
- Seagull 25th Anniversary Flame Maple w/ LR Baggs Micro EQ

Have an acoustic guitar? Don't let your guitar dry out! Click here.
Ya dude, check out guitarcenter.com
http://www.guitarcenter.com/Takamine-G440C-Acoustic-Guitar-516422-i1148979.gc

sorry the solid top one is G340SC