so i purchased EMG 81 and 60 to put in my Ibanez i followed the schematic precisely and when i plug my cord all the way in i get no sound, if i pull the cord half way out i get sound but neither my tone pot or my switch have any effect on the sound im getting. ive been staring and searching for hours to try and figure out why, ive changed my input jack and verified my wiring a thousand times and still nothing. the funny thing is i'm an electrician by trade and i cant figure this out. pleeeeeeeeease any help, i just want to jam my emg's and i cant.
thanks
hmmm turn the volume pot up, it might help

edit: I'm kidding
I'm FAT!
Last edited by tatatotfolife at Mar 21, 2009,
Quote by TheShred201
Post a picture of the wiring for forum members to look at if you can.

Yup.

No one can help you unless you either

A: give a VERY detailed explanation on what you did.

or

B: Post pics of what you did.

My things:
Bowes SLx7
Washburn WG587
Washburn X40Pro
Washburn X50
Washburn HM24
Washburn WR150
Laguna LE200s
Arietta Acoustic
First Act
Valveking 112
VHT Deliverance

ok, first off i turned the volume pot up, of course. this is the wiring diagram i used
http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o99/Mk239/EMGWiringDiagram.jpg
it is the same that comes with the pups. ive checked my cords' continuity and its fine. and again ive checked my wiring a thousand times, seriously and it matches exactly the schematic. i have top of the line soldering equipment and plenty of experience soldering. im scared to "experiment" with the wiring for fear of killling my EMG's. my ibanez came with a cheap cor-tech 3-way switch, i replaced it with a fender strat/tele 3-way switch to match the schematic. i dont think the switch is the problem though. i hope this is enough info. if not let me know, i just want to jam!!!
Did you switch the pots?

I think for emgs your supposed to use 25k, but idk if that would have a effect if you didnt.