Hey UG,

So Im a regular guitarist, ive been playing for like 5 years now, I know a decent amount of theory, i memorized a couple scales, I know most chords, and I can read music at a toddlers level.

Im considering taking AP Music Theory for my junior year, I understand its a class for pianists and other classically trained musicians, but do you guys think Im going to get owned? or is it a good class to take?

Have any of you guys taken it? BTW I hear its one of the hardest AP tests =/

thanks, and <3
you really need to be good at reading music, so either buff up on it before next year, or don't bother
Quote by AA00P
Listen to the man, he's Jewish.
If you put the practice into it, you do fine. Just like any other class.

I suggest learning how to sight read (read sheet) before going into the class. 10-15 minutes a day for a week will help you memorize the notes. Then it's a matter of knowing where your notes are on your guitar without thinking about it. Which again, 10-15 minutes of practice for (a few) weeks, so long as you catch all your mistakes and practice efficiently.

And don't worry if you're "going to get owned" you're taking the class because you want to, not to worry about what others think of you.

Please add me if as a friend I helped! (I like to think I'm a friendly person)
Well I take AP music theory this year and let me tell you, it's easy. I never thought I knew a lot of theory. I've played guitar for 4-5 years so I know my way around the instrument. You would be surprised how much you really know, I say you should take the class, it's fun easy and you can still learn a lot from it. As for the AP exam, I missed the date for sign ups so I'm not taking it, but my friend in my class is in May I'll get back to you on how it went
Hey thanks, I feel a lot better,

Let me rephrase, I know like the notes on a staff, like FACE, and EGBDF or w/e im not that fast at recognizing notes though, is that bad?
Quote by speedylocs