Ok, im sure everyone know how hard it is to get Brazilian Mahogany now so Im looking at Sapele to use as a substitute. I've never used it before, whats the pros and cons of Sapele?
I've only used it once, but it seems quite easy to shape, and after carving the contours (jazz bass body), they required little sanding before they where perfect. it does look a bit orange though.

x
Fender Geddy Lee Jazz
Warwick Corvette $$
Rockbass Streamer Fretless
Hartke HA5000
SWR Triad

Quote by Victory2134
I happen to enjoy every mankiss from shinhoman.
Quote by jscustomguitars
Ok, im sure everyone know how hard it is to get Brazilian Mahogany now so Im looking at Sapele to use as a substitute. I've never used it before, whats the pros and cons of Sapele?

Did you see my "Got Wood" thread?

10 year old South African Mahogany, Khaya I think. LP saw it.

I can get some for you if you wish?

Boards are 12W 2D by 7ft
I think its coarser weaker and less stable

Quote by dogismycopilot
Absent Mind, words cant express how much i love you. Id bone you, oh yea.

Quote by lumberjack
Absent Mind is, as usual, completely correct.

Quote by littlemurph7976
Id like to make my love for Neil public knowledge as he is a beautiful man
^I don't think it feels any coarser to my hands (I'm sitting with that sapele body blank of mine right here), it's just that the grain runs in one direction for a while and then there are broad streaks where it runs the other way, and it seems to be more prone to some fuzzing and tear-out on the lines between those criss-crossed grain sections. And the end grain looks pretty fine (as in "not coarse) to me.
Apparently, Google tells me that (believing my wood to be Khaya, though LP wasn't clear on that.)

Khaya Ivorensis
SOURCE: Tropical Africa and Madagascar
COLOURS: Khaya Mahogany is light pink to medium brown to red brown