I've been recording for about 5 years now. I do all of my own eq'ing, mixing, editing, etc but i've always given the files over for someone to master. i want to start doing it on my own but i'm not sure what it is exactly
basically you take the final mixed track, and you polish the sound up, this generally means adding compression/limiting and EQ and also occasionally reverb. There are a tons of books and articles on the web about different ways to do this and whatnot.
make Industrial and/or experimental electronic music? Join my group!

Last.fm
Last edited by Kid_Thorazine at Mar 21, 2009,
so i do the mastering with the final sound files as one track after everything has been eq'd and mixed?
yeah, you master the final mixed track.

I should add that I highly recommend you use good monitors for this, doing it with headphones or crappy speakers is generally a very bad idea.

Last.fm
Last edited by Kid_Thorazine at Mar 21, 2009,
Be prepared. It takes as long to learn mastering as it does to learn recording.... the biggest difference is that the end product is much more dependent on the quality of your tools than recording is. You can make pretty decent recordings with cheap gear and some good know-how. Mastering.... not so much.

If you're using the BX8 monitors, you're well on your way to fine. I'd be a little wary of 5" drivers like in the BX5, though.... especially for mastering.

Don't waste your time on so-called mastering plugins like T-Racks and the like. They're for people who can't or won't learn about mastering but still want a final product that resembles the real thing.

CT
Could I get some more talent in the monitors, please?

I know it sounds crazy, but try to learn to inhale your voice. www.thebelcantotechnique.com

Chris is the king of relating music things to other objects in real life.