So yeah, I'm just a guitarist looking for a cheap bass that I can noodle about on, and these SX basses seem pretty decent for the price. Has anybody else tried these out or heard anything about their quality? Yes, I'm aware that I get what I pay for, but the specs on those things seem incredible for the price.

I play mostly Muse-esque fingerstyle, but I also enjoy playing RHCP-esque slap/pop.

WHAT HAVE YOU DONE
MutantCorn likes 'em. I've never tried any.
Quote by Ez0ph
That was a different Feb08er that threatened to suck you off
I remember that

Sadly, I was the threatened.
Quote by Firenze

Let it be known that I concur with everything this gentleman says, ever.

www.myspace.com/tarsusmusic
They're not much liked around here, but I've played one and it wasn't bad. Of course, I'm a guitarist. Basses aren't my center of knowledge.
Current Gear:
LTD MH-400 with Gotoh GE1996T (EMG 85/60)
PRS SE Custom 24 (Suhr SSH+/SSV)
Ibanez RG3120 Prestige (Dimarzio Titans)
Squier Vintage Modified 70s Jazz V
Audient iD22 interface
Peavey Revalver 4, UAD Friedman BE100/DS40
Adam S3A monitors
Quote by Anonden
You CAN play anything with anything....but some guitars sound right for some things, and not for others. Single coils sound retarded for metal, though those who are apeshit about harpsichord probably beg to differ.
Searchbarring rondomusic gives you decent results. But a lot of those threads are just people going back and forth about how they either 1. suck, or 2. are awesome. Of those 2, though, Mutant Corn seems to have the most convincing argument supporting them.

I've never played one, but I agree that they look awesome for the price, and the LTD models, around $170 or so, come with larger bridges, so they're supposed to be a lot better in terms of tone and sustain.
-
-
--
---
-----
--------
-------------
Yay fibonacci!
Mutant Corn is indeed the SX prophet, speaking of days when we will all bow to his great orange necks and funky frets.