Hey guys,

I've been playing electric guitar for 3 months and been practicing basic major and minor chord progressions.

The problem I have is that when I change chords, the neck of the guitar tends to move away from my body slightly which is making it difficult to get smooth changes.

I'm sitting with the guitar resting on my right thigh and the neck at a slight angle away from my body. As far as I know this is the correct way to hold the guitar, but not sure what's making it move when I lift my left hand to make a chord change?

Any help/suggestions much appreciated.

Cheers.
This

EDIT: Really though... It's a matter of practice. Its good to get a feel for playing standing up too.
"When sh*t becomes valuable, the poor will be born without assholes."
Last edited by MetalManiac_86 at Mar 22, 2009,
You may be angling it somehow with your right arm, and your left hand is keeping it closer to your body. That would explain it moving away from you when you let go. It's kind of hard to judge without seeing what you mean, that's the only thing I can think of.
El Gearo:

Fender '69 Reissue Mustang
Fender American Standard P-Bass

Fender Blues Junior
I think you're fretting to hard.

Please add me if as a friend I helped! (I like to think I'm a friendly person)
Your applying too much pressure. Thats why when you release the chord you are moving the guitar. Slow down your practice and relax. You want to apply only as much force as necessary.

It's good to get use to playing standing up. Some people also like to play the guitar in the classical position. Like this guy: http://www.in2guitar.com/tgfnva/BobB.jpg
LTD EC-500 - 18v mod
Roland Cube 30
DigiTech RP-7 Valve Guitar Preamp/Multi-Effects Processor
Wow, thanks for the quick replies.

Now that you guys mention it, I probably am using too much pressure for fretting. I'll try relaxing a bit more and see what happens.

Thanks heaps!
Quote by Innovision