So, I've hit a wall. I've been playing for about 9 months and I just finished learning jump in the fire by Metallica(just to give you an idea where I'm at), I want to be able to play stuff like Vai, Malmsteen and Megadeth down the road and I straight up just don't know what I should be doing now. Any advice would be awesome even if it's as simple as : Practice. Please and thx
to me, blues was a MAJOR gateway into getting better, and being able to learn the more "virtuoso" guitar stuff. if you can get into blues soloing, and take baby steps into shred, you'll be golden
Quote by AA00P
Listen to the man, he's Jewish.
*cough* practice *cough*

No, also listen to those guys and try to emulate them. Also look back into who were their influences and check them out. I know one of Malmsteen's influences is a tasty mother****er.
If you play guitar, please don't waste your time in The Pit, and please instead educate yourself in the Musician Talk forum, where you can be missing out on valuable info.
Quote by DiminishedFifth
It's like you read my mind!

I got meself a self-approving sig. Kick. Ass.
Yeah just practice. And now I'm going to take guitarsftw advice and go learn some blues so I can actually play something worthwhile...and quite possibly one day learn to shred.
Albert King, B.B. King, SRV, Jimi Hendrix (sorta blues), Robert Johnson, Muddy Waters, and Eric Clapton are ones that come to mind immediately.
Famous last words are for men who never said enough. - Anonymous
Gear
Agile 3000 Rootbeer slim
Vox Valvetronix VT30
Takamine GS430S Acoustic
Learning blues is great for your phrasing but if you want to shred, I recommend doing lots of exercises and gradually building speed and accuracy in a range of techniques. Some resources I recommend are-

-the exercises thread
-the big sticky
-Speed Mechanics For Lead Guitar
-Guitar Techniques magazine
-Creative Guitar 1 and 2 by Guthrie Govan