Whats up everyone? I've been playing the guitar for eight months and have studied theory from day one and, hopefully, at this point have a good understanding at a basic level of it. However, what continues to make me ask question are modes and chord progressions of them.

I just recently took a liking to Phyrigian scale and was wondering that, when making a chord progression to solo over it do I use chords that have characteristics of the Phyrigian Scale or do I relate it to the major scale like If I am playing in C Ionian doing a I-II-V II being minor chord use E Phyrigian to solo over it or would I make a I-II-V from Phyrigian and use Phyrigian in that key to solo over it.

I've read a lot about modal center studies here on U.G. so I have a good grasp but I've also read to create chords from a major scale and thats that.

Thanks Alot

Mike Pelosi
It would be easiest and probably best sounding if you just related your phrygian scale to it's 'parent' major key and resolved you progression on the iii chord of that scale. But of course you can experiment with all kinds of chords and progressions, your ears are the ultimate judge in this one ;]
I am, by no means, an expert at this; but to create music that is truely modal the chords used need to include some of the notes that make (in this case) the phyrigian scale the phyrigian scale. So in relation to the major scale that is 1 2b 3b 4 5 6b 7b. The chords and solo would need to reslove to the tonic, I believe that can be somewhat difficult as it will try to reslove to the major scale tonic.

If you play E phrygian over a Cmaj progression you are just playing in Cmaj. If you play C phrygian over a Cmaj progression you will get the feeling of a phrygian sound, but will not truely be playing a modal piece.

I'm sure there is more to this, but my knowledge currently ends here (and may not be 100% correct)!
Last edited by Myshadow46_2 at Mar 23, 2009,