I want to be able to solo and shred hopefully by the time I've finished, I've got just over 2 and a half years left, and I started playing last October. I try to practice in all my spare time, without overdoing it cause I was getting wrist pain when I was going up and down scales for hours a day. My parents are getting pissed off at me though coz I study/do homework about 1 and a half to 2 and a half hours a night, and just whenever I can be bothered on weekends, and I reckon that's still plenty, but my sister just finished year 12 and got 99.something crazy % in her exams, and she used to study literally from the time she got home from school until about 9.30+ so like 5 hrs a night. And my parents expect me to do that too, there's no way i could do anything productive for 3 or 4 straight hours, I cant cram that much into my bloody head anyway. I just got a few 'bad' (really they were just average) results in tests, more coz ive been shoved into hard classes than because i dont work hard enough, so theyve just said that I should practice for 20mins before school and then I cant play after school which is riidculous, they said something like that before though and I just kept playing and the sort of gave up, so no way im not practicing that little every day, but what would you say is a reasonable amount of time to spend practicing, if I want to be able to solo/shred ok in a few years? I dont really plan on going to uni after school either, but i havent told them coz ill be out of the house if they find that out, so ive still gotta do well enough to keep them happy so that i can still play guitar, otherwise itll probably be taken off me.

i learn fairly quickly at guitar as well, although I think that's a lot to do with how much i practice when I can, but i can pick up all the theoretical ideas and stuff quickly. Can play pentatonic scales 150-200bpm (rarely at 200 though, only sometimes for a short burst) 8th notes, and clearly, picking every note